Zoom Tutorials

Linux | Windows | AWS | Azure | DevOps Tutorials

IAS Officer Grades and Pay Scales

10 min read
IAS Pay Scale

IAS Grades and Pay Scales

GradePay ScaleGrade PayYears of Service Required
Junior Scale50,000 – 1,50,00016,500NA
Senior Time Scale50,000 – 1,50,00120,0005 years
Junior Administrative Grade50,000 – 1,50,00223,0009 years
Selection Grade1,00,000 – 2,00,00026,00012 to 15 years
Super Time Scale1,00,000 – 2,00,00030,00017 to 20 years
Above Super Time Scale1,00,000 – 2,00,00030,000Varies
Apex Scale2,25,000 (Fixed)NAVaries( around 30 years)
Cabinet Secretary Grade2,50,000 (Fixed)NAvaries

Now let us discuss each grade pay scale in detail.

1. Junior Scale Grade

Junior Scale is the first grade assigned to the IAS probationers. The post included in the junior grade are:

  • Sub-Divisional Magistrates (SDMs)
  • Sub-Divisional Officers (SDOs)
  • Sub-Collector (After completion of Two- years of Completion)

The post differed from state to state and depends on the state nomenclature of the administrative structure.

2. Senior Time Scale Grade

Senior Time Scale is the second in the line and assigned to the IAS officers who have completed 5 years of service. The posts included in the senior time scale grade are

  • District Magistrate (DM)
  • Collector
  • Joint Secretary of a Government Ministry

3. Junior Administrative Grade

Junior Administrative Grade is the next in line and as the name suggest, it is assigned to the IAS officers who complete 9 years in the services and becomes a member of the administrative group in the state bureaucracy. Some posts included in this grade are as follows.

  • Special Secretary to the Government of India
  • Head of Various Government Departments in the state government

4. Selection Grade

Selection grade is assigned to the IAS officers who complete 12 to 15 years in service. This is the most opportune time for the IAS officer. At this stage, he plays a very important role in policy decisions.

  • Secretary to a Ministry
  • Director in a field organisation

5. Super Time Scale

This grade is assigned to the IAS officers when they complete 17 to 20 years in the service. The officers don’t follow a regular posting because the postings depend on the will of state governments. Besides, the state cadre strength also plays its role here. The most important posts included in this grade is

  • Principal Secretary

6. Above Super Time Scale

This grade is assigned after 20 years of service. After 20 years of service, the IAS officer keeps getting the grades and the salary increases with the grade, but the posting depends on the will of the government. The records and performance play a very important role in the posting. The post also varies in this grade.

7. Apex Scale

The Apex scale is the second top grade in India and only second to the Cabinet Secretary Grade. The officers assigned to this grade only after they achieved success in their previous postings. The posting in this grade depends on the performance and the will of the government. Some posts included in this grade are as follows

  • Chief Secretary of States
  • Union Secretaries in charge of various ministries of Government of India such as Home Secretary, Finance Secretary

8. Cabinet Secretary Grade

This is the apex of the pyramid of IAS salary grades in India. Cabinet Secretary is the top officer of India. The IAS officer for this post is hand-picked by the Prime Minister of India and he can choose from a list of officers provided to him from the Ministry of Personnel.

One of the most important parts in relation to the IAS salary is that the salary is decided and fixed by the Union Government of India, but it is paid from the State funds. The state to which the IAS officer is assigned pays the salary and the other benefits.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2016-2020, ZoomTutorials.com